National Day of Prayer

Posted on


Today was the National Day of Prayer for America. Today was also a very exhausting day for me-hence the fact that I’m typing this at 11:30 PM. I’ll be honest with you, I didn’t really do much praying today. I woke up after having some dreams that kind of disgusted me. I’m not exactly sure how dreams work. If you have an inappropriate dream should you ask for forgiveness, or is it something that you didn’t have control over? I don’t really know (let me know what you think), so I usually stay on the safe side and pray for forgiveness. Today, I didn’t do that. I kept reminding myself to but never did. I probably spent more time thinking about doing it than it would’ve taken me to actually do it. Anyway, then I had a few things throughout my school day that were stressing me out, that I still didn’t pray about. Then my job got irritating and I still didn’t pray. So now I’m laying in my bed at 11:40 on a school night with the only light in the room coming from my phone screen. Now I have time to slow down and think about today. And how much I didn’t pray. Ephesians 6:18 says, ‘Pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.’ I should be praying countless little prayers throughout the day. Prayers for forgiveness, prayers of thanks, prayers for others, and prayers for myself. That last one always trips me up. Last night at church we spent the whole time worshiping and praying (it was wonderful). When we got to the part where my youth pastor asked us to pray for ourselves, I thought, ‘Oh, no. Not this.’ See, I don’t like praying for myself. I guess I feel like I’m being needy. It’s hard for me to grasp that God doesn’t think I’m clingy since so many other people think I am. There’s a great quote by D.L. Moody that says, “Some people think God does not like to be troubled with our constant coming and asking. The way to trouble God is not to come at all.” The truth-which my youth pastor told me last night- is that when we pray for our own desires we are not being selfish. We have Christ in us, working in our hearts. He is constantly changing our desires to match up with His. So when we pray, we are asking for His will to be done in our lives. For example, I believe that God helped me write my book. So I believe that it is part of His plan for it to be published. Therefore, when I pray for my book, I believe that I am praying for a desire that the Lord placed in my heart-one that matches up with His desire for my life. And that’s how it works. If God is truly living in you, then you don’t have to be afraid of sounding selfish when you pray. Remember that God knows your heart. He knows what you want. He knows your prayers before you even think them up. But He still wants you to pray. Because He wants to know that you trust Him. He wants to know that you trust Him with your heart. Brothers and sisters in Christ, I urge you to not go a single day praying as little as I did today. As 1 Thessalonians 5:17 says, ‘Pray continually.’ 

Feel free to leave a comment!

