Rescue, Not Convert

Posted on


I hate when people use the word ‘convert’ to describe Christians’ influence on nonbelievers. When I witness to someone my goal is not to ‘convert’ them. My goal is to reveal to them that they are forgiven and that they are loved with an everlasting love. I want for their souls to be saved by Jesus Christ who died for them. I don’t want to ‘convert’ them, I want to ‘rescue’ them from themselves and the empty life they are living. My intentions are selfless. I do it because I care. Just the thought of anyone going to Hell makes me shudder. I don’t even want to imagine my closest friends missing out on Heaven. The word ‘convert’ makes it sound like you’re trying to reach a quota. Like whoever ‘converts’ the most people is going to get some special reward in Heaven. But, for me, it’s not about that. I want for them to be ‘rescued’. As if they’ve gone overboard and need someone to care enough to throw them a rope. I don’t need to rescue a certain amount of people to feel like I’m doing enough. All I need to do is try.

Matthew 18:11
For the Son of Man has come to save the lost

Feel free to leave a comment!

