It Is Well

Posted on Updated on


Last night I was laying in bed trying to fall asleep. Freezing rain was beating against the window making it hard for me to clear my mind and sleep. I decided to put some music on so that I could concentrate on that instead of the freezing rain. A couple of songs passed and the sleet was so loud I could hardly even hear the music. Then, as the next song started, the sleet abruptly stopped ricocheting against the window. In the silence, the song began, “Grander earth has quaked before, moved by the sound of His voice.” I let my head sink into the pillow as I let the words sink into my soul. I knew that God had quieted the noise for a reason: He wanted me to speak to me through this song. When the song reached the chorus, I nearly cried as I felt the Lord touch my soul. “Through it all, through it all, my eyes are on you. Through it all, through it all, it is well. Through it all, through it all, my eyes are on you. And it is well with me.” I was reminded that no matter what is going on in my life I need to trust God because He has never failed me before. Despite my circumstances, God is shielding my soul. Matthew 26:41-The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak. Honestly, it is well with me. Yeah, I’ve been better, but I’ve also been worse. And I’m still here. Because God wants me to be. Towards the end of the song, the same phrase was repeated over and over again. Which was good, because I needed to hear it over and over again. “Let go, my soul, and trust in Him. The waves and wind still know His name.” As soon as the song was over and God knew that I had understood His message to me, the sleet gradually resumed beating against the window. Except that time, it didn’t bother me. I drifted off to sleep, wrapped in the warmth of my blankets and His love.

Feel free to leave a comment!

